Previous Page  5 / 8 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 5 / 8 Next Page
Page Background

professions, recognizing more than 2,000 allied health

education programs.

Graduates of accredited programs must successfully

complete a certification examination in order to attain the

CST credential. Certification examinations are administered

by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical

Assisting (NBSTSA) and they are the only surgical technology

and surgical first assisting examinations in the country

accredited by the National Commission for Certifying

Agencies. Contact the NBSTSA or visit their website,

for current eligibility requirements.


CSTs and CSFAs Have Proven Their Knowledge and

Commitment to Quality Patient Care on National


Surgical technologists and surgical first assistants

undergo rigorous certifying procedures to earn a national-

ly-recognized credential as a Certified Surgical Technologist

(CST) or Certified Surgical First Assistant (CSFA).

Certification, instead of licensure, was selected by the

profession as the preferred method of credentialing surgical

technologists and surgical first assistants because it allows

employers to evaluate prospective employees by one

verifiable, national standard. It is the single method by

which all surgical technologists and surgical first assistants

demonstrate their knowledge of the principles of surgical

technology. Certification not only ensures quality care for

the patients, but also provides a valuable asset to the health

care institution’s risk-management program and is a benefit

during the institutional accreditation review. In addition,

many CSTs and CSFAs carry their own personal malpractice

insurance, which can provide the health care facility with

another financial benefit.

C S Ts A N D C S F A s I N T H E S U R G I C A L E N V I R O N M E N T