Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

AST headquarters will be closed Monday, July 4, 2022. We hope you all have a safe Fourth of July!

  • AST Governance

    The Association of Surgical Technologists is administered by an 11-person Board of Directors who are elected by the membership at the annual conference. The Board of Directors is composed of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer and seven Directors. The Board of Directors is charged with the overall responsibility of conducting the affairs of the association according to the Bylaws and as mandated by the House of Delegates in the best interest of the membership.

  • Leadership

    The Association of Surgical Technologists is administered by an 11-person board of directors who serve for two years. The president, vice president and treasurer plus three directors are elected in odd-numbered years; the secretary and four directors are elected in even-numbered years.

    AST has three national standing committees. Members are appointed by the AST president and approved by the board of directors. These committees include:

    The AST Bylaws and Parliamentary Procedure Committee prepares, reviews and recommends amendments to bylaws that shall included bylaws amendments proposed by the membership.

    The AST Education and Professional Standards Committee develops strategies to stabilize and increase the quality of entry-level surgical technology education. 

    The AST State Assembly Leadership Committee educates and motivates surgical technologists to move toward legislative involvement within each state.